Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS)

View Full Calendar

NRC Conflicts and Change: Book Club for Educators

Event Type
Other
Sponsor
Spring 2024 World Area Book Club sponsoring centers include the the Center for Contemporary Arab Studies at Georgetown University, the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Arizona, the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP), the South Asia Institute at the Texas at Austin, Asia for Educators at the Weatherhead East Asia Institute of Columbia University, and the Institute for Global Studies at the University of Minnesota.
Date
Feb 6, 2024   6:00 pm  
Views
31

Spring 2024   Conflicts and Change: Book Club for Educators

Join us virtually to delve into discussions with speakers (and sometimes authors!) from various world area Title VI National Resource Centers housed in universities nationwide to learn resources and strategies how to use these award winning books in your classroom. Book should be read before its featured session. 

Dates: January 9 (T), February 6 (T), March 5 (T), April 10 (W), May 7 (T), 2024 - Time: 7pm-9 pm Eastern/ 6pm-8pm Central/ 5pm-7 pm Mountain/ 4pm-6pm Pacific

  • February 6, 2024-  Wishing Upon the Same Stars, by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman/ facilitated by the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Arizona
  • March 5, 2024-  Isla to Island by Alexis Castellanos/ facilitated by the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) (9 Latin America NRCs Centers at universities nationwide)
  • April 10, 2024-  Thirst by Varsha Bajaj/ facilitated by the South Asia Institute, University Texas-Austin
  • May 7, 2024-  The Banned Book Club by Kim Hyun Sook/ facilitated by Asia for Educators at the Weatherhead East Asia Institute of Columbia University


NOTE: The registration is full, PLEASE sign up for the waitlist: https://forms.gle/QwjVhiLZuyUJFAs2A  

link for robots only