Computer Science Speaker Series Master Calendar

Back to Listing

Aravind Srinivasan: A Vision for the Future of Illinois Computer Science

Event Type
Department of Computer Science
NCSA Auditorium (Room 1122, 1205 W. Clark St., Urbana)
Jan 23, 2018   10:00 - 11:00 am  
Aravind Srinivasan, Professor of Computer Science, University of Maryland, College Park
Amanda Foley
Originating Calendar
Computer Science Speakers Calendar

Abstract: This is an exciting time to work in Computer Science, with the ever-growing power and ubiquity of the discipline. Illinois Computer Science is a very strong department located in a renowned College and University. However, there are existing and looming challenges, including the funding landscape, maintaining visibility, educating for the future, smart management of increasing size, and ensuring that Computer Science is a big tent. I will discuss my vision for the future of Illinois Computer Science, including my ideas about how to turn these and other challenges into opportunities.

Bio: Aravind Srinivasan is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Maryland, College Park. He received his undergraduate degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, and his Ph.D. from Cornell University. He was a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton and at DIMACS. He has also worked at Bell Labs.

Aravind Srinivasan's research interests are in randomized algorithms, networking, social networks, and combinatorial optimization, as well as in the growing confluence of algorithms, networks, and randomness, in fields including the social Web, machine learning, public health, biology, E-commerce, and energy. He is Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Transactions on Algorithms, a Managing Editor for Theory of Computing, and an Associate Editor of Networks. His papers have been (co-)recipients of the Best Paper/Best Student Paper Awards at various conferences in areas including algorithms, networking, and social networks.  Srinivasan is a Fellow of four professional societies: ACM, AAAS, IEEE and EATCS. He received a Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Madras. He also received the Distinguished Faculty Award from the Board of Visitors of the College of Computing, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences (University of Maryland) in 2016. See:

link for robots only