Cultural & International

Back to Listing
Flyer for the Global Culture Work Event

Global Culture Work: Between Transnational Mobility and Local Commitment

Event Type
Lecture
Sponsor
Center for Global Studies
Virtual
wifi event
Date
Mar 5, 2022   1:00 - 2:30 pm  
Speaker
Lila Ann Dodge, François Bouda, Bienvenue Bazié & Auguste Ouédraogo, Salamata Kaboré, Roxane D’Orleans-Juste, and Debby Kajiyama & José Navarrete
Registration
Register today!
E-Mail
tpollack@illinois.edu
Views
40
Originating Calendar
Center for Global Studies: Events

Global Culture Work: Between Transnational Mobility and Local Commitments

Saturday, March 5th at:

  • 1-2:30 PM CST (Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA)
  • 11 AM -12:30 PM PST (Oakland, CA, USA)
  • 8-9:30 PM CET (Bordeaux, France)
  • 7-8:30 PM GMT (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso)

On Zoom

Register today!

Panelists :

Roxane D’Orléans Juste, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Auguste Ouédraogo, Wa Tid Sao, Bordeaux, France & Art’Dév, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Bienvenue Bazié, Art’Dév & MbOmen, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Debby Kajiyama, Naka Dance Theater, Oakland, California, USA

José Ome Navarrete Mazatl, Naka Dance Theater, Oakland, California, USA

Salamata Kobré, Compagnie Salamata Kobré, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

François Bouda, Sankhof’Arts, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

ENGLISH

This panel brings together dance and theater artists and arts managers based in Africa, Europe, and the Americas to discuss key conditions of their work in this “global” profession. What have been the roles of transborder mobility and financial patronage in their careers? How have they undertaken projects committed to particular “local” contexts, and what futures do they see for socially engaged work in performance?     

The panel will be conducted in French and English (with written translation).

FRENCH

Cette conférence rassemble des artistes de la scène et des manageurs culturels basés en Afrique, en Europe, et aux Amériques pour discuter des conditions clés de leur travail dans cette profession dite « globale. » Quels rôles ont joué la mobilité transfrontalière et le soutien financière dans leurs carrières? Comment ont-ils établi des projets orientés à des contextes locales, et quels futurs envisagent-ils pour le travail engagé dans les arts du spectacle?

link for robots only