Computer Science Department Calendar

Back to Listing

Deadline: ACM Awards

Event Type
University of Illinois
Dec 15, 2021   All Day
Hannah Gorrie
Originating Calendar
Computer Science Department Events Calendar

ACM is accepting nominations for their annual awards now through December 15. The attached document outlines the awards not only for lifelong contributions, but also for early-to-mid career contributions, and specific types of contributions such as educational contributions or outstanding contributions to ACM, along with specific attention to certain technical areas such as artificial intelligence, high performance computing, and programming systems. There is also the Athena Lecturer Award that honors a preeminent woman in computing.

This year there is a new award highlighting the value of mentoring in the development of computing professionals. This new award is the ACM Frances E. Allen Award for Outstanding Mentoring, which emphasizes contributions in mentoring students and young professionals from diverse communities.

Currently accepting nominations:

  • Turing Award, for lasting contributions of a technical nature to the computing community
  • ACM Prize in Computing, for early to mid-career contributions in computing theory or practice
  • Frances E. Allen Award for Outstanding Mentoring
  • Grace Murray Hopper Award, to an outstanding young computer professional for a single recent major technical or service contribution
  • Paris Kanellakis Theory Practice Award
  • ACM-AAAI Allen Newell Award, for career contributions that have impact across sub-disciplines
  • ACM Distinguished Service Award
  • Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award
  • Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
  • Athena Lecturer Award
  • ACM Policy Award

Details of the nomination process can be found here:


link for robots only