Ekkawit Ray Pongpet

Back to Listing

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) in the CS Department- Open Meeting

Event Type
Illinois Computer Science
wifi event
May 4, 2022   3:30 - 4:30 pm  
Colleen Lewis
Originating Calendar
Computer Science Department Events Calendar

On behalf of the Department's Broadening Participation in Computing (BPC) Committee, we would like to invite you to an open meeting to learn about ongoing BPC efforts and share your ideas for how we can create a more inclusive community.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Open Meeting
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
3:30 – 4:30 PM

In the first half of the meeting, we will share our current representation rates, and committee members will present about our current BPC activities. In the second half of the meeting, comments and questions from attendees will be discussed. We will also share a recording of the meeting.

You can provide comments and ask your questions during the meeting, or you can submit them prior to the meeting using the anonymous DEI Comments and Questions Form. The results of this form can be viewed by BPC Committee members. Questions and comments will be read aloud at the Open Meeting. Some comments may be summarized for time purposes. Since this is an anonymous survey, we will not be able to follow-up with you. If you would like follow-up, please provide your contact information or email ColleenL@illinois.edu. You can also always send concerns to our CS CARES Committee at: cs-cares@lists.cs.illinois.edu

To learn more about the department's current BPC Activities, we encourage you to visit our BPC Page or read our current departmental BPC Plan. Recently BPC highlights include the launch of the CS Kickstart Program and the CS Student Ambassadors/Research Scholars (CS STARS), which were made possible by a Center for Inclusive Computing Grant our department was awarded earlier this year.

If you have any questions about this meeting, please feel free to reach out to the BPC programs team: bpc-programs@cs.illinois.edu. Broadening participation in computing is a core value of our department, and we look forward to this opportunity to share in an open conversation with our entire CS community.


Nancy M. Amato
Abel Bliss Professor and Head, BPC Committee Co-Chair

Colleen Lewis
Associate Professor, BPC Committee Chair

On Behalf of the Broadening in Participation in Computing Committee:
Sara Aghajanzadeh, BPC Graduate Fellow
Abdussalam Alawini, Teaching Assistant Professor
Lawrence Angrave, Teaching Professor, Gies RC Evans Innovation Fellow, CITL Fellow
George Chacko, Research Associate Professor and Executive Director of Research Data Analytics
Geoffrey Challen, Teaching Associate Professor
Cynthia Coleman, Director of External Relations
Ryan Cunningham, Lecturer
Neal Davis, Teaching Assistant Professor
Jeff Erickson, Sohaib and Sara Abbasi Professor
Christopher Fletcher, Assistant Professor
Max Fowler, BPC Graduate Fellow
Kari George, Future Faculty Fellow
Yael Gertner, Teaching Assistant Professor
Jancie Harris, BPC Coordinator
Kathleen Isenegger, BPC Graduate Fellow
Katrina Jones, Senior Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Dakshita Khurana, Assistant Professor
Marco Morales, Teaching Associate Professor
Akash Mukherjee, Master's Student
Olawale Salaudeen, PhD Student
Brad Solomon, Teaching Assistant Professor
Tiffani Williams, Teaching Professor, Director of Onramp Programs, Dean’s Fellow in Inclusion, Belonging, and Engagement
Michael Woodley, Clinical Assistant Professor
Lingming Zhang, Associate Professor

link for robots only