Physics Main Calendar

View Full Calendar
The Transient and Variable Universe: June 20-22, 2023

The Transient and Variable Universe Conference

Event Type
CAPS, CMB-S4, LSSTC, NCSA, ngVLA, and the Roman Space Telescope, and STScI
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
Jun 20, 2023 - Jun 22, 2023   All Day
Joaquin Vieira
Originating Calendar
Center for AstroPhysical Surveys

The goal of the conference is to bring together the scientific community working on transient and variable science across all wavelengths. The motivation is to identify the major fundamental scientific questions that can be addressed with the upcoming time-domain survey facilities in the gamma-ray, X-ray, optical, millimeter, and radio wavelengths.  We hope to identify synergies between the various surveys and which rapid followup and pointed instruments will be needed to maximize the scientific return. The science topics will be wide and ambitious, covering both Galactic and extragalactic science. 

The meeting will be in-person with between 100-200 participants. The talks will be broadcast remotely.

The meeting will be hosted by the Center for AstroPhysical Surveys (CAPS) and held at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The meeting is sponsored by CAPS, CMB-S4, LSSTC, NCSA, ngVLA, and the Roman Space Telescope, and STScI.

Please save the date: 20-22 June 2023
Sign up for announcements here:

Registration is now open for the “The Transient & Variable Universe” conference to be held 20-22 June 2023 at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. 
 Conference website:
 Abstract Submission for contributed talks and posters will be open until the deadline of April 14, 2023.  Abstract submission is independent from registration. Submit abstracts through the conference website, with the direct link:
 Conference registration is open, and will continue until the deadline of May 19, 2023. Registration is on the conference website at:
 Invited speakers include:
 Vivienne Baldassare, Washington State University
 Patrick Brady, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
 Masha Chernyakova, Dublin City University
 Joel Coley, Howard University
 Ryan Foley, University of California, Santa Cruz
 Shri Kulkarni, California Institute of Technology
 Tyson Littenberg, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
 Meredith MacGregor, University of Colorado
 Rebecca Phillipson, University of Washington
 Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, University of California, Santa Cruz
 Liliana Rivera Sandoval, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
 Marcos Santander, University of Alabama
 Jennifer Sokoloski, Columbia University

link for robots only